Quick Links


GDFRA hopes all members enjoy the 2020 season. Don't forget to read up on the new law changes for 2020.

No Smoking at any Grounds

Direstraits Referee is your friendly webmaster and  below is a selection of questions he has been asked or have been given to him by fellow referees.  They have been put here for the interest of members and to show incidents and points of law that don't always happen in your average game.  If you have a burning question you would like to ask a soccer referee with regards to refereeing and the game of soccer but were afraid to ask then why not ask the question in the members forum? Alternatively, send an email to webmaster@gdfra.org.au.   Each enquiry will be dealt with in strictest confidence and the question and answer will be displayed anonymously in the Direstraits Referee's Selection of Q & A  as soon as possible.

Questions and Answers (Click on Green 'Answer')

Q A player from the opposing team restarts the game with a throw in and as a fair play gesture he throws it back to the keeper. The keeper then picks it up - is this permitted. Answer
Q If from a penalty kick the chosen penalty taker decides to pass the ball to a team mate instead of shooting at goal, will a goal still be rewarded if his/her team mate then scores. Answer
Q If I have a throw in (in a planned move) if one of my players turns his back on me and slowly walks off, can I throw the ball at his back and then collect it again and play on. This is all done deliberately and not just thrown in random at one of my players Answer
Q What is the six yard box actually for? I am sure it's origin was not because of goal kicks but something to do with yardage and fouls in the area Answer
Q In district football the level of dissent has increased. Each referee has his own tolerance level but what is the best way to nip it in the bud without ending up with a load of cautions? Answer
Q In a penalty shoot out, if the ball touches the goalpost and the goalkeeper before it goes in the net will this be classed as a goal.  It is our belief that the the rules differ from a penalty taken in the normal course of play where a player may follow up a penalty to get a goal.  Obviously in a shoot out this is not allowed and therefore if the ball comes of the post and goes in the goal off the keeper (rather than going in directly off the post) is the ball already dead and therefore no goal? Answer
Q Could you please define when a tackle from behind is a foul and what appropriate action should be taken. In particular is it still possible to tackle from behind if you  make contact with the ball only and not the player. Answer
Q Some years back, in a game I was playing, one of the opposing forwards punched the ball into our goal.  I was the goalkeeper for our team at the time, and was extremely annoyed and complained bitterly because the referee awarded the goal.  To add insult to injury, the ref then sent me off.  Knowing that the player had cheated and got away with it, I refused to accept the suspension and just stopped playing on principle. 

Well,  last weekend I was asked to play in a trial match, and I couldn't believe my eyes, as it was the same ref who sent me off all those years ago.  We got to chatting, and he asked me if I ever served my suspension.  When I said no, he sent me off before the kick off!  He can't do that can he? Answer
Q I am a local referee and I wish to ask why do English referees run on the left wing (opposite of most European countries and in Australia) and date of apparition of Assistant Referees in the laws of the game. Answer
Q An attacker and defender left the field because of the momentum of the game, and the ball remained in play. As the attacker tries to re-enter the field of play, the defender holds him back. As this incident is off the pitch, and the ball is 'in play', what decision should a referee make regarding this incident. Answer
Q What would be the proper procedure a referee should follow for the following situation?
A foul was called resulting in a penalty kick, much to the dismay of the coach of the penalised team. As the teams prepared for the penalty kick, the coach in question, in protest to the call, instructed his goalkeeper to stand away from the goal area. Since the rules state that before the penalty kick is to be taken, the goalkeeper must be on the goal line, several scenarios could develop from this situation (with the goalkeeper refusing to stand on the goal line). Answer

Click to return to the top of the pageE-Mail: webmaster@gdfra.org.auClick to return to the top of the page

Granville District Football Referees Association - The Official Web Site